This is Not a Final Farewell

It’s hard to say “goodbye” so I won’t.  The time has come for me to hang up my Family Business Council Ambassador hat and pick up my golf clubs to spend my days on the course. The last twelve years have been an amazing journey of building relationships, growing businesses and connecting with leaders. Serving as Director and then Ambassador enabled me to invest in a strong, thriving community that has become part of who I am, making it hard to step away from a council that truly embodies the spirit of family.

During my tenure, I experienced the peaks and valleys that many of our family businesses endured with the economic instability, and it was exciting to witness their resilience and to serve as a catalyst for growth.  I strongly believe in the power of mentorship which helped drive my passion to lead and be part of the Family Business Council. When I joined the FBC over a decade ago, I was ready to make a difference, but along the way I became part of a community that has a distinct mission, and I want to ensure it lives on long after my tenure has ended.

  • I’d like to remind everyone with the Council to keep the audience to be served a priority.  It’s the family-owned business owners along with the students at CSUF that need to be our focus.
  • On the personal side, continue to invest in and demonstrate the virtues of volunteering your time/energy/resources, be they financial, psychological, spiritual, etc.  You get back more than you give.

My passion for people has helped me become a friend to the Council members, not just the Director. The piece of advice that I would like to end with: identify and define your values.  This will not only provide you with clarity and vision but will also be the driving force behind your family’s growth and success for the future.  Hold on to those values and the legacy of the family firm; they are essential for the next generation.

This isn’t a goodbye. This is more like see you soon.

About centerforfamilybusiness
Our goal is to assist family business - recognizing their common problems and finding solutions for the unique issues that confront them. The Council mission is to be the premier educational resource to family-owned businesses in southern California, supporting family businesses, providing information and interaction uniquely tailored the needs and concerns of family-owned enterprises. We help family businesses grow and prosper while keeping harmony in the family.

One Response to This is Not a Final Farewell

  1. Rachel Owens says:

    Mike
    Your tenure and leadership for family buisnesses in Orange County has indeed been true to the mission. The strength of family owned firms are the economic backbone in our community. The Family Business program is a model of success for the participants and to other such programs across the county.
    Thank you for your stewardship these past 10 years.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.