Rolling Out The Red Carpet…

Every summer FBC organizes a relaxing social event for all of our members to mingle and enjoy themselves, and this year was no exception. It is no surprise that our members have outstanding businesses, that is why they are a part of the FBC, and on July 26 we were fortunate to visit a beautiful showroom of one of our members. MS International hosted this year’s gathering and it was one of the best events so far!

Our hosts, Manu and Rika Shah, of MS International (www.msistone.com) in Orange, were wonderfully gracious hosts.  They rolled out the red carpet for our guests, and made all of us feel right at home.   With wonderful, traditional Indian Cuisine, their stunning showroom made up of stones imported from all over the world, and first-class tours of their facility, the evening could not have gone more smoothly.

As I had the chance to meet with our members and sponsors who were in attendance, I was touched by the kindness and enthusiasm expressed to me and my wife Laurie-ann by everyone there.   We both immediately felt like we were members of a close-knit family.

One major highlight of the night for me was the chance to meet the first FBC Director, Judy Harman, and to hear stories from the early days of the Council. I am honored and humbled to have the privilege of carrying on her vision, which was so magnificently kept alive by Mike Trueblood over the past 12 years.   Working side-by-side with Mike is a great experience, and it is easy to see why our members and sponsors are so loyal to the Family Business Council.

At one point at the event, I stood off in a corner by myself, and observed the gathering, just to soak it all in.  The friendliness that I saw between the members and sponsors made a strong impression on me.  I hope to continue to create an atmosphere within the council where we all can grow closer to one another, work together, and develop stronger personal and professional relationships.   We all prefer to do business with people whom we trust, and as associates in the Family Business arena, we share a common bond.  

I am excited to work with each of you, and to become a trusted advisor to you over the years to come.  If there is ever anything I can do for you – if you need a referral, want to bounce an idea or strategy off of me, or just need a listening ear – I hope you feel comfortable calling on me, and other members of the Family Business Council. Starting the year off with a great summer mixer makes me feel that this will be a great year for all involved in the FBC.

About csuffamilybusiness

In 1995 Cal State Fullerton, the third largest business school in the nation, formed the Center for Family Business to assist family businesses in recognizing their common problems and in finding solutions to the unique issues that confront them. The Center's mission is to use education to help family businesses in our region grow and prosper and to keep harmony in the family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.